Saturday, October 29, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number 16!


In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)
This week I got...

by
by
by
by
by (LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this one!)
by

by
by

by

Well, that was my IMM. What was in yours? Leave me links! I always follow back! Plus, please check out my giveaways on the Giveaway Page. I am giving away a SIGNED COPY OF LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR BY STEPHANIE PERKINS! YEP. You know you wanna enter! Thanks! :)
-Angel

Friday, October 28, 2011

Book Review: Brightest Kind of Darkness by P.T. Michelle!


Author: P.T. Michelle
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: Patrice Michelle
Release Date: June 27, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition, 507 KB.
My Rating: 5/5
Buy It: Amazon Barns & Noble
How I Got It: I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. 
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) Nara Collins is an average sixteen-year-old, with one exception: every night she dreams the events of the following day. Due to an incident in her past, Nara avoids using her special gift to change fate…until she dreams a future she can’t ignore. After Nara prevents a bombing at Blue Ridge High, her ability to see the future starts to fade, while people at school are suddenly being injured at an unusually high rate. Grappling with her diminishing powers and the need to prevent another disaster, Nara meets Ethan Harris, a mysterious loner who seems to understand her better than anyone. Ethan and Nara forge an irresistible connection, but as their relationship heats up, so do her questions about his dark past.

My Review:
From the very first page, I was hooked. I loved Nara’s voice. She was the perfect heroine: Strong, witty, cool and kind—I loved her character. She had this need to protect the ones she loved and I really liked that about her. I loved reading from her point of view, and after reading so many YA books where the main character is physic or her powers come from magic—having Nara live her entire next day in her dreams was a breath of fresh air, and very original in the YA world.
Brightest Kind of Darkness is one of the first books of its kind that I have read, and I just have to say that it was amazing! It was original and well plotted; P.T. obviously knew where she was going with this story from the very first page, until the last line. The world that P.T. has created was beautiful and deadly, and I couldn’t get enough! I couldn’t put this one down! Every time I put my iPhone down (because I’m cool like that and only have the Kindle App) I picked it right back up, promising myself, just one more chapter. But it was never just one more chapter. This book had me reading well into the night, and I was always dying for more! Brightest Kind of Darkness is the kind of book that has you always on the edge of your seat, guessing at what is going to happen next, but never quite getting it right.
I loved the relationships in this novel, as well. Lainey, Nara’s best friend, annoyed me at times, but I never really disliked her. She was willing to take the side of mean girl Sophia, over her best friend since forever, Nara. But over the course of the book, Lainey gets better, and you can really see her character grow. I also loved Nara’s aunt Sage. I thought she was a great character and really added some spice to the already great story. And Ethan! Oh, Ethan! He was probably my favorite character, for sure. He was your simple bad-boy-who-really-isn’t-that-much-of-a-bad-boy, and I loved him.
He had this depth about him that had you always wanting to know more about him, and even though he was very mysterious, he never tried to keep Nara in the dark for very long, and he was always very open and gentle with her. 
I loved that Nara and Ethan actually got to know each other before anything too serious happened between them; their relationship was not the typical, ‘he likes me, I like him, lets do this!’ that I have been reading about all too much lately, so I would like to personally thank P.T. for creating such real and engaging characters.
Just like with Lainey, you can really see each character grow and develop as the story progresses, and each new plot point is met and carried on. You can’t help but to fall for every character worth falling for.
Over all, this is a great story of love, mystery, loss, gain, friendship, and adventure. I cannot wait for P.T.'s next novel!
Brightest Kind of Darkness will have you on the edge of your seat, fighting every need you may have, just to read one more page, and always dying for more. With great characters, a strong plotline, and a never-ending supply of action—this novel is the perfect read, and will have you questioning everything from, “What will happen next?” to, “Just how far you would go to keep the ones you love most, safe?”
“But not touching you would be the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do.” –Brightest Kind of Darkness.

Saturday, October 22, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number 15!


In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)
This week I got...

by
by
by  
by
by
by by
by
by
by
by
by  
by
by
by
by
by
  by
by
by
by
by
by
by
by

Then, I got my new lovely blog card in the mail! YAY! Aren't they super pretty? If you win a giveaway from me, expect to get one of these bad boys!
Well, that was my IMM. What was in yours? Leave me links! I always follow back! Plus, please check out my giveaways on the Giveaway Page. I am giving away a SIGNED COPY OF LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR BY STEPHANIE PERKINS! YEP. You know you wanna enter! Thanks! :)
-Angel

Friday, October 21, 2011

Win a SIGNED Hardcover Copy of Lola and the Boy Next Door! GIVEAWAY!

Hey, all!
So. Who remembers me saying something about if I got up to 100 followers, I would have a giveaway? Well, we did it! I now have 129 AMAZING, BEAUTIFUL, WONDERFUL and INCREDIBLE people following this very blog. So, first, THANK YOU. Thank you so very much, from the bottom of my heart for following this blog, and supporting me. I love you all! And because of that, I want to give you all something.
For having gotten 909 Reviews to almost 130 followers, I am giving away an UNREAD, BRAND NEW, JUST LEFT THE STORE, SIGNED HARDCOVER COPY OF LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR by Stephanie Perkins! I got to meet her while I was in Asheville, North Carolina last night at John Green's book signing, and she was just so sweet and nice. I got a picture with her, but I didn't have any of her books to get signed. But, it's okay, because I already have both Anna and Lola signed by her. :) So just meeting her was great. Because I love you all so much, I went to the bookstore that Stephanie had her book release party for Lola at, and I got one of you guys a signed copy. :)
(Please ignore the, "Oh, my God--it's Stephanie Perkins!" fan-girl look on my face. She's so amazing!)
I loved Anna, as most of you know (REVIEW HERE!) and I adored Lola, (who wouldn't?) Review HERE!

So as a thank you for having gotten me to 129 followers, and as a sort of Happy Thanksgiving gift, I will give one of you a signed copy of Lola. :)

If I somehow get to 200 followers, I will add another book. 250 followers mean even MORE books! :) Hey, a girl can dream!
So, yeah. Do you want a signed copy of Lola? Of course you do!
All you have to do is FOLLOW this blog.
RULES:
Must be 13 years of age or older to enter.
MUST be a follower of 909 Reviews.
I am so sorry, but because of high prices, I cannot ship internationally right now,  so this giveaway is open to residents of the US and Canada only, (unless you have a US shipping address that I can send the book to, who can send it to you). I am SO sorry! I'll do an international holiday giveaway. Promise. :)
The winner will have 48 hours to reply to the email that I will send them, letting them know they have won or else a new winner will be picked.
You can enter so long as you follow 909 Reviews, letting that be your main entry, or you can fill out the form and follow the instructions to earn extra entries.
Thank you! All entries will be verified to make sure you are following the rules. Only enter once, unless you are Tweeting about the giveaway. Repeated entries of the same person will be deleted. Be fair, guys! Please don’t leave out any information if the form asks for it: it’s there for a reason. :)
This giveaway will run from 10/22/11 until 11/25/11. There will be one (1) winner.
Thanks and good luck! :)



Thursday, October 20, 2011

Author Interview: Phyllis Johnson!

Hey everyone! Today I am happy to have Phyllis Johnson of the writing duo, Johnson Naigle, on the blog today! Phyllis is the co-author of the YA suspense novel inkBLOT, written by her and Nancy Naigle under the pen name Johnson Naigle. Nancy will be joining us on the blog on Saturday for an interview as well! You can check out my review of inkBLOT by clicking here! And my review of Being Frank with Anne by clicking here!

Phyllis Johnson was born and raised in Tidewater, VA. She's a self- proclaimed renaissance woman with an artist's soul. She's been in several modeling and acting roles, but her passion lies in the written word. Her books and poetry have brought a smile and inspiration to many.

First of all, thank you for coming on the blog today! I really appreciate it, and I’m so happy to have you featured today!

For the readers who have yet heard of you—can you tell us a little about yourself? Your likes, dislikes, when you first started writing, where do you write, etc…

I found out I liked to write at an early age. My parents had given me a toy typewriter and I started typing neighborhood newsletters with a cousin. My crazy sense of humor showed up even then. My cousin sent me a copy of one of those newsletters a few years ago. We really got a kick out of looking at it years later. Growing up, my love for writing was reconfirmed when I had to create a poetry book in tenth grade. The teacher fell in love with my poetry and it really gave me a warm fuzzy feeling. I also remember in the seventh grade when I wrote a paper about Thomas Jefferson and stated that he had taken a bite out of the pie of politics. The teacher pulled me aside and raved over that sentence. This was another thing that made me realize that writing was a love of mine. My first real publication was a poem in a book of poets nationally. Once I saw my byline, I was hooked forever. The writing grew from poetry to articles for a variety of newspapers and magazines. I once wrote a weekly humor column for five years. The best part of that was that it made me look for the funny angle in life, something that helps brighten a day. One of the biggest thrills in magazine publication was having some sales to Woman's World magazine. This was the first of a number of national magazines in which I was able to publish.

As for my likes and dislikes, I've liked belonging to a number of writing groups. This has been a great support to me and I've learned a lot from them. My dislikes would have to include getting rejections in the mail but over time, they weren't the form letter type but some came in handwritten notes, a sign that you're really progressing. After a while, the sting would last just a few steps from the mailbox and then it would be gone. Now, that type of note comes from an email, if you're lucky. It's all a learning process and we never stop learning in this field.  

One thing I'm learning is that writing can take place anywhere really. Inspiration can strike at the oddest places. Take a notebook with you everywhere in case inspiration hits. But most often, I write in my office at home, either on the PC, my laptop or on a notebook, swinging in the hammock out back by the river. That's one of my favorite places to be.  

Which character(s) in inkBLOT do you feel you relate to best, and why?

I relate to Chelsea the most. Being a newspaper reporter, I can identify with her tendencies to want attention for my articles. It's only natural to want readers to really like your work. Her constant craving to be appreciated as a writer is something that dwells inside of me too. I admit it. Maybe it's a Muse needing to be fed, I don't know. To quell it somewhat, I grab a piece of chocolate. :.)

What made you want to write a novel for young adults?
 
I work in a high school library so I'm around young adults all the time. I really enjoy their energy and enthusiasm. The story lent itself well to younger characters and it just seemed to fit. The whole techno thing coupled with tattoos, etc. seemed like something that would appeal to YA readers too. Now I'm realizing it's really for those older than YA too.

How was writing inkBLOT different from your other books?

I've written a lot of poetry and short stories, as well as some novellas. Making something that was longer was different.
Did you ever miss being able to go deeper in thought and meaning, like you would be able to with your poetry?
 
I was able to use some of that deep thought in Chelsea's poetry. You can't have characters going around with too much internal thought in the text so having them either journal or write poetry is one way to show more emotion.

inkBLOT is the first time collaboration between you and Nancy Naigle. What ideas did you both bring to the table? 
Nancy is in banking so her knowledge of techno stuff and spread sheets came into play while writing about Ronnie. My experience with newspaper writing and poetry helped define Chelsea. I'm fond of dreaming up plot ideas and concepts and Nancy's a great detail person and she's awesome with dialogue. I'm an editor and zone in on sentences, cutting out what's unnecessary and noticing punctuation. We both brought different strengths to the table.  

In your own words, what makes inkBLOT different from other books of its kind? Why should people read your book?

 inkBLOT is different because the idea of computer programs being able to detect criminals through a computer program test is something new. I think the timing is right for this book because anything done online now, such as social media, gaming or the like is really where everyone's attention is focused.

I just want to wrap up this interview with something I like to call Five Question Dash. The idea is to learn more about you in five quick questions and answers. Let’s go!

When is your birthday?
September 7

What is your favorite book?  

It's nonfiction. It's called "Write it Down, Make it Happen."  
It's like writing goals and wishes down is like sending a prayer up. It's holding yourself accountable and making your desires known. 

Do you have any secret talents?
I enjoy painting and am currently taking a painting class. I have acted for the Discovery Channel in FBI Files, New Detectives, Diagnosis Unknown and Psychic Investigator. My weirdest acting gig was on 6/06/06. (666) It was the Psychic Investigator/Possessed Investigator episode. The lead actress had to play a demon possessed woman. It was lightning and thundering around the small chapel set and was the most surreal acting experience I ever had.

Once I saw myself on the big screen at the NARO {in Norfolk, Virginia} in the independent film, Sweet Good Fortune. That was fun to act in as well. I don't have much time to act and have turned down auditions and parts this year. Maybe one day I'll get to act some more. I like to think those roles have helped me in my writing somehow.  

How would you describe yourself as a writer?
 
I'm a multi-genre writer. Considering that I write nonfiction, poetry, humor, spiritual, juvenile, romance and just plain sassy- perhaps I'm suffering from a split personality, who knows.

Do you have any ongoing projects? Anything you would like to share?
 
I'm writing a collection of funny high school stories titled Hall Pass and a book of monologues for high school students titled, Just Me. I'm working on repackaging two of my titles, Being Frank with Anne (poetry about Anne Frank) (www.beingfrankwithanne.com) and a midlife humor for women poetry book, Hot and Bothered by It for re-releasing. Because of my day job at a high school library and my writing for several magazines and newspapers, I stay very busy, but that's the way I like it.
My final word to anyone who wants to write, never give up your dreams. Work hard. You'll get there. I'd love to hear from you. My email is pjwriter7@aol.com
***
Thank you so much to Phyllis once again! Don't forget to check out all of her books, and inkBLOT!
Nancy Naigle will be stopping by on Saturday!
Until next time!

Monday, October 17, 2011

Anew by Chelsea Fine Cover Reveal!


Hey everyone! So if you guys haven't already heard, the cover for Chelsea Fine's new YA serious, The Archers of Avalon, book one, Anew, was revealed a few days ago! Isn't it gorgeous? Just look at it!

First thoughts: Ohhh! It's all purple and pretty! Ohh, she's wearing a pretty dress, too! Ohh, her eyes are bright blue! The Archers of Avalon? Sounds like there will be hot guys in it!
As you can see, I'm not the brightest person when it comes to YA book covers. I blame my mother--she got me into buying books that have 'pretty covers' no matter if it sounds like I will like the book or not. But Anew sounds AMAZING! And with a cover like that--I can't wait! 
And what is that in Scarlet's hand? A ring? Again: Ohh, ahh! 
SYNOPSIS:
Scarlet awoke in the woods without her memories...without a past...without a future. Until she met a boy with a familiar voice. A boy with secrets. A boy with answers. A boy named Gabriel Archer. 
Intrigued by his voice, Scarlet immerses herself in Gabriel's life only to discover he has a brother he's kept hidden from her: Tristan Archer. Once Scarlet meets Tristan, her world becomes even more muddled. 
While she's instinctively drawn to Gabriel, she's impossibly drawn to Tristan--and confused out of her mind. Why does Gabriel seem so familiar? Why is she so attracted to Tristan? And why do both brothers keep telling her she's cursed to die?
Scarlet doesn't have the answers...but the Archer brothers do.


GOSH! Doesn't that just sound AMAZING?!?!?! I think I'm gonna be a Gabriel girl. Mainly because I just really love the name Gabriel. It reminds me of Gabe from one of my favorite bands ever, Cobra Starship. (Purple hoodie)
But enough about that.

Tristan sounds amazing, too! Something tells me he's gonna be the bad-boy. I like me my bad-boys! :)
I think you all should check out Chelsea's books, and add Anew to your TBR list! Also check out Sophie & Carter, which I will start reading tonight!






SYNOPSIS: Next-door neighbors Sophie Hartman and Carter Jax grow up witnessing the shameful secrets of each of their families and, amidst the heartache, form an unspoken bond of friendship.  But events during their senior year of high school will change both of them forever.  As their lives unravel, Sophie and Carter rely on one another for strength, encouragement and hope…and begin to realize their feelings for each other might just be deeper than friendship….
Isn't that the cutest cover since how about forever?! I love all of these covers for Chelsea's books so far! :)


Sunday, October 16, 2011

Book Review: Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout + Giveaway!


Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: First edition, October 18, 2011.
Format: Paperback: 304
My Rating: 5/5
Buy It: Amazon Barns & Noble Book Depository
How I Got It: I won an ARC from the author off a Twitter contest.
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.Unfortunately, she's crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn't her biggest problem--staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.
My Review:
Half-Blood had me completely hooked and on the edge of my seat from the very first page. First, let me just say that I didn’t know what I was getting myself into with this book. I knew that it sounded amazing, and that the cover was gorgeous, but, really: Covers lie. Well, not this one! The story itself is just as captivating as the pretty cover, and the promise of the amazing summary holds true.
Alex was a girl unlike any character I had ever read about. She was so witty and sarcastic most of the time, but not overly so. She just knew how to make the best out of any given situation, and she did it with style. She was quick on come backs, and I loved being in her head, seeing things from her point of view. She was also a very strong female lead, which we need a lot more of in YA! So thank you, Jennifer Armentrout, for not making Alex a weak cry-baby whose only thoughts were of her hair.
And Aiden! Where to start with Aiden? All of you know how much I love Four from Divergent, right? Well, I think I have a new favorite, or a very close tie.
Aiden was so sweet and amazing, while still being totally badass, in control, and keeping a level head. He never put up with any of Alex’s crap, and he wasn’t scared to yell at her if she did something wrong. He was her trainer, after all. He was also completely mouth-watering. Did I just say that out loud? Oh, well. I wouldn’t mind training hand-to-hand combat if it were going to be with him!
I honestly loved every single thing about this novel; from the world Jennifer has created, to the characters, the evil daimon’s that Alex had to take on, and the Covenant where Alex and her friends trained and lived—all of it was perfect, and so well done. I could imagine and see everything in my mind, and when that happens, I know I am reading a great book.
I loved the whole thing on being either half-blood or being a pure-blood. In a way, it was almost like Harry Potter—how most pure’s thought themselves better than the half-bloods, but the half-bloods were just as good, if not better than them. But don’t let that scare you—this book is completely its own—the plotline was strong and while reading, you always knew the story was going somewhere, and every chapter just kept getting better and better; there was never a dull moment. This novel was action-packed—I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed all of the fight scenes—they were awesome and always kept me on the edge of my seat—I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.
All of the characters showed great growth and development by the end of the book, and I loved all of them. The dialogue was often amusing and some of the conversations the characters have will have you laughing out loud.
Overall, this was an amazing read for me, and I cannot wait to get my hands on a finished copy! If you want a never-ending, action-packed novel, with a forbidden romance to die for—this is the book for you.
“You wanna fight?” He stepped to the side, tipping his head down at me. “Then fight me.” –Half-Blood
***
Since I loved Half-Blood so much, I will be holding a giveaway of Daimon, the prequel to Half-Blood
The winner will win one (1) paperback copy of Daimon by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and one (1) signed bookmark. 
One more winner will win one (1) signed bookmark. There will be two winners, but only one will get the book AND the signed bookmark. The second winner will just get a signed Daimon bookmark.
The giveaway is open internationally, so long as the Book Depository ships to your country.
RULES:
Must be 13 years of age or older to enter.
MUST be a follower of 909 Reviews.
The winner will have 48 hours to reply to the email that I will send them, letting them know they have won or else a new winner will be picked.
You can enter so long as you follow 909 Reviews, letting that be your main entry, or you can fill out the form and follow the instructions to earn extra entries.
Thank you! All entries will be verified to make sure you are following the rules. Please don’t leave out any information if the form asks for it: it’s there for a reason. :)
This giveaway will run from 10/17/11 until 10/31/11. There will be two (2) winners. 
Thanks and good luck! :)

Book Review: Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton

 
Author: Courtney Allison Moulton
Author Online: Twitter Website Blog 
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: February 15, 2011 
Format: Hardcover: 464 Pages.
My Rating: 5/5  
Buy It: Amazon Barns & Noble  The Book Depository
Summary:When seventeen-year-old Ellie starts seeing reapers - monstrous creatures who devour humans and send their souls to Hell - she finds herself on the front lines of a supernatural war between archangels and the Fallen and faced with the possible destruction of her soul. A mysterious boy named Will reveals she is the reincarnation of an ancient warrior, the only one capable of wielding swords of angelfire to fight the reapers, and he is an immortal sworn to protect her in battle. Now that Ellie's powers have been awakened, a powerful reaper called Bastian has come forward to challenge her. He has employed a fierce assassin to eliminate her - an assassin who has already killed her once.While balancing her dwindling social life and reaper-hunting duties, she and Will discover Bastian is searching for a dormant creature believed to be a true soul reaper. Bastian plans to use this weapon to ignite the End of Days and to destroy Ellie's soul, ending her rebirth cycle forever. Now, she must face an army of Bastian's most frightening reapers, prevent the soul reaper from consuming her soul, and uncover the secrets of her past lives - including truths that may be too frightening to remember.
My Review:
You know that feeling that you get every once in a while when you go into a store, or go to a yard sale and you find something that just makes your heart stop because it’s just so perfect amongst all of the other seemingly worthless things surrounding it?
Well, Angelfire was that something for me.
Ellie was a nice girl who just so happened to be this reincarnated warrior whose job it was to protect the world from reapers. Yep—that’s how I sum it up for you!
I liked the fact that Ellie was willing to believe all of this about her, having gone from being a normal teenage girl to a warrior in a very short amount of time, but she was still a little skeptical, which I liked. I hate when the main character finds out something about themselves, and either believes it all too quickly, or isn’t willing to believe it at all. Ellie was a very believable and relatable character, and by the end of the book, I wanted to be her best friend.
I felt that all of the characters in this novel severed a point—none of them were there to just be there and I liked most of all the secondary characters. All of the characters showed great development and growth throughout the novel, (especially Ellie), which I loved.
I also want to take a moment to personally thank Courtney for writing in Ellie’s perspective. Ellie was a breath of fresh air to read about. She was witty, sweet, smart, and over all, totally awesome. She felt like a real teenage girl to me: a little bit girly while still being fierce, controlled by her emotions but not letting them get in the way, and hopelessly attracted to Will. But can you blame her?! Oh, Will. Sigh…
This book was action packed; every other scene was a fierce battle; Ellie fighting for her life, and Will right there with her. Which, now that I’ve mentioned him… it brings me to the romance part of this novel.
Now, let me just say that I loved Ellie as a character. I loved Will as a character, so you put them together and I was smiling like an idiot.
I loved Will and Ellie. Together, they were unstoppable. Will was cute and charming, and even when he was out of the picture for just one second I was dying for more of him!
Can he and Four from Divergent be my book boyfriends? Please? Such amazing male leads! If there is one thing Courtney Allison Moulton can write, it is great characters and even better action sequences.
This novel was just a little piece of awesome, and I cannot wait for Book Two, Wings of the Wicked.
If you like blood, hot guys, blood, awesome battle scenes, blood, relatable characters, hot guys, and more blood—this book is for you! Don’t be like me and wait until forever to read Angelfire; if you own it, pick it up today. If not, what are you waiting for, you crazy person, you! Go get it! Now! Go! Go! Go!
Angelfire will have you on the edge of your seat, cheering for Ellie, Will, and their fight for their lives as they take on reapers, life, and even each other. You won’t want to miss out on this amazing series.
“As I swung a third time, he grabbed my wrist. "That's enough hitting," he growled. "You don't exactly hit like a girl, you know.” --Angelfire

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number 14!


In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)
This week I got...

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
by
by
by
by
by
by


by
by
by
by
by
by
by
by
by
 And last...
by
by
by
by
by

by

by
 Well, that's what's in my mailbox this week! What's in yours? Leave me links--I want to know! And I follow back. :) Don't forget to check out my giveaways I have listed right now! Thanks! :)

Saturday, October 8, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number 13!


In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)

Tris & Lzzie by Mette Ivie Harrison. I won this and I am so excited for it! It's also signed! :)
The Legend of Lady MacLaoch by Becky Banks. I also won this one, and this is also signed! :) I'm sick and I'm tired so would you all be mad if I just posted the pictures? If you have any questions about them, leave it in the comments and I'll message you back! Thanks! :)


I'm excited to read Twenty Boy Summer as well, even though I hear it's super sad.
 I can't wait to read Wings! And Anna Dressed in Blood! I've heard nothing but great things about Anna! The Name of the Star is also one I'm very excited to start reading, and it is also signed. :)
 I won 500 Acres and Nowhere to Hide as well. And that is also signed! The Rahel Vincent books are also signed. :)
 The Faerie Ring!!! I'm so excited for this! I'm so reading it this month! :) I'm also excited to read Modelland, just to see what I think. :) And I won Cosmic Storm off of Twitter. :) Thank you to Tiger Holland!
 I've been dying to read A Great and Terrible Beauty for the LONGEST time now, so I can't wait! I also found it in hardback, which I've been looking everywhere for, so yay! Same with Forgive My Fins.:)
 The amazing and wonderful Kiki Hamilton sent me some bookmarks that I won off of the Classof2K11 blog.I love them! She also wrote a really sweet note on the back of The Faerie Ring postcard. :)
 For review, I got R.T. Michelle's Brightest Kind of Darkness. I am reading this right now, and it is sooo good, guys! Check it out!



Then I got Remembrance by Michelle Madow for review. Michelle will be stopping by for an interview and giveaway soon! I'll keep you guys posted!

















Well, thanks guys! Sorry for not listing everything--I'll come back later and do that. But until then, thanks for stopping by, and I DO follow back! Also, check out my giveaways! I am giving away a signed copy of inkBLOT by Johnson Naigle and Unveiled by Trisha Wolfe. Just go to the Giveaways Page! :) Leave your IMM! I would love to know what you all got! :)

Author Interview: Trisha Wolfe + GIVEAWAY of Unveiled!

I am so excited to have the author of Unveiled, Trisha Wolfe, on the blog today! As some of you know, I completely adored Unveiled (check out my review HERE!) So check out my interview with Trisha and the giveaway at the end!
First of all, I just wanted to say thank you for coming on the blog today, and for agreeing to do this interview! I’m very excited to have you featured today!
 I’m excited to be here! Love your blog, and thanks so much for having me!
I know you probably get this question all the time, but for the readers who have yet heard of you—can you tell us a little about yourself? Your likes, dislikes, when you first started writing, where do you write, etc…
Sure! I began writing at 14. After I read INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE by Anne Rice I knew that’s what I wanted to do. Write about vampires! Ha! Well, I have written about them. I think every writer has at some point. But no. I wanted to write stories that made people fall in love with the written word.
I write in my bed. I’m too uncomfortable in a desk and chair, so I pretty much lounge around all day when I’m in writer mode ;) And likes? Chocolate and Coke. That is all.
Your novelette, Unveiled, takes place in a Dystopian world. What made you want to write within that genre, and how did Unveiled come to be?
 I’ve always loved far away worlds or settings that were different than the here and now. That being said, I love Dystopian. I also love Utopian. Both are amazing, but I find Dystopia often has a very depressing feel, not that I don’t adore it, but I wanted to write one that also had the feel of a Utopia. Okay, now I’m just confusing myself lol. I basically meshed the two together and came up with Karm.
Unveiled has nothing but five star reviews on Amazon. Congratulations! Did you ever expect Unveiled to get such rave reviews? How does it make you feel?
Well, it has two four stars now! LOL. But, that’s still an amazing thing every time I look at GR and Amazon. Yes, I do read reviews. *Gasp* I think it’s important for first time authors to hear what their readers are saying. We need to grow even after we’re published, and the best way to do that is by paying attention to what our readers like and don’t like. Right now, it feels awesome! I’m so elated to see people enjoying these characters and the world of Karm. I’m still in the process of finishing the book, so it motivates me to get it done.
The cover art for Unveiled is gorgeous! Just saying!
 Aw, thank you! I heart it, too =)
According to Goodreads.com, your next novel, Destiny's Fire, will be released next year, 2012, by Omnific Publishing. Can you tell us a little about Destiny’s Fire? What readers can expect?
Yes. It’s actually very different, in a sense, compared to UNVEILED. For one, it’s a mesh up between Steampunk and Paranormal. I don’t think I’ve ever written in just one genre lol. But the story is about seventeen-year-old Dez who’s part of a race of Kythan—shape-shifters—that used to guard the pharaohs of Egypt. Except in the year 2012, they’re power is no longer needed. They’re in a centuries-old war with another race of Kythan, the Narcolym, who basically forged the new world with their magic Flame, and everything is steam-powered. Dez is hiding a very serious secret, one that could not only endanger her, but her family and friends. She struggles to protect her guarded haven from the Narcos as they move in, as well as find her place in the world. There’s hot guys and kissing, too.
There’s this whole blub on GR’s ;)
So I hear you’re working on a novel to go along with Unveiled. Can you tell the fan-girl in all of us readers anything about that? *cough* Is Xander in it? *cough*
Ha! Yup, I’m working on it right now. And crossing my fingers it gets picked up. The novel is actually told from Zara’s point of view, and centers around Sebastian and Devlan, and is seen from life on the inside of Karm Castle. But yes, Xander and Fallon and the Rebels will be in it, though not till later in the story ;) I’m kind of wondering with two more guys coming into the mix, who will be the top guy. I’m partial to Devlan myself.
Why should someone read your books? Give us quick insight on what sets your books aside from others of its kind.
Oh wow, that’s a hard question lol. Um, hmm. Well, I’ll have to go with my tendency to genre mesh. I try to take the things I love from my favorite genres and combine them in a unique way, making new worlds to explore. With a little romance thrown in, of course.
I just want to wrap up this interview with something I like to call Five Question Dash. The idea is to learn more about you in five quick questions and answers. Let’s go!
How tall are you?
 4’ 11” EEP!
What is your favorite book?
 Can I pass? Lol Um, just one? The Hunger Games. 
Your favorite band?
 The Misfits (Great choice, Trish!)
If you could travel through time so you could witness any one event, what would it be?
 Easy. Ancient Egypt to witness the pyramids being built.
How do you feel about social networking, like Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Amazon, etc… has any of the above sites helped get your name and works out there? Also, how do you feel about book bloggers/reviewers? How has it been to get feedback on all of your hard work?
 I love social networking, probably more than I should lol. Not so much Facbook anymore, just because they keep changing it. I spend most of my time on Twitter and blogs.
And I love book bloggers! I’ve actually been book blogging for a year on my own blog. So I know, from experience, how much work goes into it. I respect what they do, and try to support the YA blogosphere as much as possible. You guys rock!
Thank you for your time, Trisha! Is there anything else you would like to say? Anything to your readers—a good place to contact/interact with you?
Thank you so much, Angel, for having me here! You ask some great questions! And thanks for all your support. Anyone can find me in all the places I lurk by visiting my website www.TrishaWolfe.com I have my Twitter there, YouTube, blog, email, etc. Thanks again!
I would just like to thank Trish once again, and tell all of you readers that you SHOULD really go get her book! It has to be on my top ten books on 2011 so far. Check it out! Here is the link to her Goodreads page, and the link to Amazon to buy Unveiled!
Now, on to the giveaway!
I (thanks to the wonderful Trisha) am giving you lovely people the chance to read the greatness that is Unveiled!  
Please fill out the Raffleopter form below and FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS! It is very important, and if you do not leave some of the information I ask for, you may not be entered. Just be a follower of the blog to enter, or follow the Raffleopter instructions to earn extra entries. The giveaway will run from today, 10/08/11 until 10/19/11. Must be 13 years or older to enter. Open internationally to anyone and everyone! Come on, come all! (Check out the All Time Low song--pretty good even though the band doesn't even like it!)
Good luck to everyone, and thank you to Trish once again! If you win, be sure to stop by Trish's blog and tell her thanks! 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...