Thursday, September 29, 2011

Follow Friday!

 Feature and Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee
Q. What book that hasn’t been turned into a movie (yet) would you most like to see make it to the big screen, and who would you like cast as your favorite character?


 A. Well, since Divergent by Veronica Roth is going to be a movie, I can't say that! So I'll have to go with...
 

Gone by Michael Grant. I've heard a few things about a possible movie and/or TV show, and all I have to say is: PLEASE! A movie would be awesome, a TV show would be AMAZING! I love this book, and I am reading the second book, Hunger, right now! It's so good, guys! Read it if you haven't already! I'll be reviewing Gone soon! :)
And who would I cast as my favorite character? Well, I don't really have a favorite character, but I'd go with Sam Temple, and I would cast Kit Weyman
 as Sam. Mainly because whenever I look at the 'Sam' on the cover, I see Kit, haha. :)
Well, there you have it! Leave your Follow Friday and I'll follow you! I always follow back. :)
OH! Real quick--only TEN more followers until I have my 100 Follower Giveaway! It's gonna be awesome, so please tell your friends! Thanks!

The Liebster Award!


Okay. I suck. Sorry it took me so long to post this! 
The lovely and wonderful Sarah at @ The Book Life nominated me for the Liebster Award. The Liebster Award is awarded to those blogs with less than 200 followers.
The rules for this award are as follows:

1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
2. Reveal your top 5 picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
4. Have faith that your followers will spread the love to other bloggers.
5. And most of all--have bloggity-blog fun!

  1.  Teen Book Fanatics
  2.  Alex @ The Bethering Book Worm
  3. Annabell @  Annabells Book Nook
  4. ...
  5. ...
Okay, I know you're supposed to pick five, but I honstly can't find anymore bloggers with less than 200 followers! :( I mean, I know they're out there--I just can't find 'em! So, if you have less than 200 followers, let me know in the comments and I'll add you to the list! Sound good? Okay! :)
Thanks again, Sarah, and sorry it took me so long to pass on the blogger love!

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins!

 
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Author Online: Twitter Website  
Publisher: Dutton  
Release Date: September 29, 2011 
Format: Hardcover: 338 pages  
My Rating: 5/5  
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit -- more sparkly, more fun, more wild -- the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.When Cricket -- a gifted inventor -- steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.
My Review:

Excuse me while I fan-girl…
Okay. I’m finished. Not really, but I can’t stop smiling! Lola and the Boy Next Door had even more hype leading up to its release than Anna and the French Kiss. I didn’t think Lola could live up to Anna, but I was so excited when I got this book in the mail today that I ripped—really, I almost got a paper cut in my rush to open it—right into it. I finished this book in just one sitting.
First things first, I saw that it was signed to me, because my mother is amazing sometimes and ordered me a signed copy from Asheville, North Carolina, from the Lola book release party that I couldn’t go to because of family problems. Fan-girl moment again, sorry—but second to that—I jumped right into Lola’s world, and I fell in love.
In a way, Lola had me missing Anna. Anna was such a funny, quiet character, and I loved her for it, while Lola was out there and in your face from the first page. But I grew to have a certain fondness of Lola that I only had a few times with Anna and that sealed the deal on this book for me.
Lola is that one girl you see from time-to-time, who is dressed so ridiculously that you can’t help but to smile. Lola was out-going, brave, daring, and even a bit too much, if there is ever such a thing. But after a few pages, I loved her and wished she was my new best friend, and clothing designer.
Stephanie Perkins is amazing. She has blown me away and has left me dying for more; just like when I finished Anna and the France Kiss, I have a longing to be in the world her characters live in, and don’t even get me started on Cricket Bell!
Cricket was, to put it simply, amazing. He was gorgeous, sweet (God—he was so darn sweet!) gorgeous, caring, gorgeous, smart… did I say gorgeous? Stop it, Angel—you’re embarrassing yourself!
Cricket was the perfect male lead for our crazy-design-loving Lola. Throughout the book, Stephanie Perkins let us see how deeply he cares for Lola, and how Lola’s feelings of hurt, embarrassment, abandonment, and anger of the past, slowly start to evolve  into the love she once had for him—the boy next door who only lives there sometimes.
I know it’s hard to believe, but Cricket has actually taken my heart. Sorry, Etienne St. Clair! I didn’t think it was possible to love a character as much as I did Cricket, and if you want to make things better—St. Clair and Cricket. Together, in the same scene—talking! Interacting! I know! Anna and St. Clair make a few brief cameos in Lola’s story, and I have to say that I loved every minute of it.
Have in mind that this book is heavier than Anna. Emotionally speaking, I was way more invested than while I was reading Anna. I felt the characters had more depth, the issues were bigger—the world was seen through clear, bright eyes the whole time I was reading and I really connected with them. I actually loved every single character—even Lola’s bad boy rocker boyfriend, Max—at least, I did until halfway through the book. You’ll just have to read it and find out why!
But—oh, no—did I just ‘but’ in this review? Did I just put a ‘but’ in here?!—I wish we could have seen more of Calliope, Cricket’s twin sister. I loved her character even though she came across as snobby and indifferent most of the time when it came to Lola, I understood her. I have a brother who I am very protective over as well, so I know what it’s like when you don’t want your brother to get hurt. I can only hope we see more of her in the near future.
All I can say is that this book is simply amazing. Is it better than Anna? Some say yes, some say no, but I am one of those who say ‘yes’ a million times. From Lola’s crazy outfits, to Crickets blue eyes, to her best friend Lindsey and her love for CSI and Nancy Drew I fell in love. It depends on what you like, but something tells me Lola is not a girl you will be forgetting about anytime soon.
******
Okay. Just for fun, I want to share with you guys who I find to be the PERFECT Cricket--he's so Cricket that it's scary! It's almost as if Stephanie Perkins has based Cricket off of this guy. If she didn't, well, it's just too weird! At least, to me it is. Who am I talking about? Good question--I'll tell you!

Ryan Ogren
Ryan Ogren from the band Runner Runner is my Cricket. This isn't a very good picture of him for being very Cricket-like, but there are a few of him that I can't find--like him in his wedding tux where he looks JUST LIKE what I picture Cricket as looking like, what with his pants being on the short side and just showing his socks and pointed shoes.
Ryan usually wears a lot of bracelets on his wrists, but in this picture, you can only see a few.
He also wears skinny jeans and T-shirts, as seen above. And, his hair is always pretty tall! If he were younger, he would make the perfect Cricket for a movie! :) <3
But, if you didn't know about the band Runner Runner, now you do! :) Look them up--they're so amazing live, and such nice guys! Ryan is one of the sweetest band guys I have ever met. And John. Mm. John... sorry! I get carried away!
Anyway, if you've already read the book, who is YOUR Cricket? Share it with me here! If you haven't read the book yet, come back and tell me when you've finished it! Or Tweet me: @Angel909Reviews on Twitter. You know what? Tell me your whole Lola cast! That will be fun! :)
********
So there you go, folks! Hope you liked the review, picture of my Cricket, and all of my nonsense. If you've reviewed this book, leave your review link! I would love to know what you think! :)

Monday, September 19, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Feel As Though Everyone Has Read But Me


Hey everyone! So, this is my first ever Top Ten Tuesday, and I have got to say... I am pretty excited! I JUST found out about this awesome meme, so I'm glad to give it a try!
So, Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and all you do is list the answers to the questions as follows for that Tuesday! Easy, right? Well, that probably just sucked at explain what it is to you... Basically, The Broke and the Bookish post their top ten lists on different topics, and you are welcome to do the same! There. That's better! :) P.S, Sorry about the weird highlighting--Blogspot is being weird and won't let me space things, so it was the only way I could keep each title away from the other, so it wouldn't be as confusing for you--sorry!
This week:
  1. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: I just feel like I am one of the only people who have not read this! But I hear that it's amazing!
  2. Pretty Little Lairs Series: Same as above! And it's even worst that now there is a TV show based on the books and I can't even watch that because I'm scared it'll ruin the books for me when I do read them!
  3. The Host by Stephenie Meyer: Actually, I have read a little of this one--I got to page 86 before I was so bored out of my mind I couldn't finish it. I know, I know, I know: It is not one of my proudest moments. But I hear that it gets better after like, 200 more pages, and then it rocks! But I don't want to have to wait that long for a book to be "better". But I probably will pick it up again, because I hate leaving a book unread if I started it.
  4. Looking for Alaska by John Green: First, let me start by saying that I LOVE John Green. So much. So much that I talked my father into driving me 7 hours to see him in Ashevile, NC in October. But this is just one of his books I haven't gotten to yet, but I hope to have read it by the time I meet him, so I can get it signed! :) Does anyone know how many books you can get signed by him? I wouldn't mind having all of my John Green books signed... just saying! :) TFDBA!
  5. Anything by Ellen Hopkins: I know: Shocking, isn't it?! I have Crank and Glass by her, but I haven't gotten to it yet! And it sucks because she's gonna be at YAllFest and I want to at least know her writing before I go there and hopefully get something signed by her.
  6. Anything by Lauren Oliver: I. Suck. Big. Time. How bad a read/blogger am I that I have never heard anything by Lauren Oliver? On the bright side, I have both of her books. I don't think that makes up for not having read it yet, though...
  7. Anything by Libba Bray: Same as above: I. Am. Awful! I LOVE Libba Bray! She is amazing and so funny (from what I know about her) but I haven't read any of her books yet! But I own Beauty Queens, so I'm hoping to get to that next on my List of Never Ending!
  8. Graceling by Kristin Cashore: As so many of the above start: I own this book, but haven't read it yet. I read about eight pages on the car ride home from the bookstore when I first got it. Like, one year ago...
  9. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead: Hate me; this is a sin in the YA book world! I promise to read it soon!  
  10. Anything by Simone Elkeles: I'm so bad! How can it be that I have not read anything by this woman?! All I ever hear is how amazing her writing is, and how "sexy" Alex is! Must. Read. Soon! And it's pretty bad, because I own pretty much all of her books...
Well, that is all! Thank you all for reading my first ever Top Ten Tuesday! If you have one, leave yours in the comments! I follow back, by the way. :) I'm also having a 100 Follower Giveaway once I hit 100 followers, so follow away, my friends! :)

Saturday, September 17, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number 11!


In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)
P.S, Don't forget to tell your friends about the giveaway I will be having when I hit 100 followers! It'll be awesome! :)

This week I got...

Torched by April Henry (I read Girl, Stolen “Read my review by clicking here!” so I hope I enjoy this one just as much!)
Girl In the Arena by Lise Havines
Pastworlds by Ian Beck
Beauty and the Bully by Andy Behrens
Z by Michael Thomas Ford
Surface Tension by Brent Runyon
The Girl with the Mermaid Hair by Delia Ephron
Black Hole Sun by David Macinnis Gill
Populazzi by Elise Allen

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

The Long Way Home by Andrew Klavan

The Truth of the Matter by Andrew Klavan

Trackers by Patrick Carman

Harry Potter Collector’s Handbook by William Slivester (Don't ask. Hey! Borders was closing down! I got it for like, less than $1!)

Vampire Wmpire Book One: The Greyfriar by Clay Griffith & Susan Griffith

Battle Dress by Amy Efaw
Wish by Joseph Monninger

 Hooked by Catherine Greenman

Fateful by Claudia Gray

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (So excited for this one!)

Belladonna by Mary Finn

Spirit Bound by Richelle Mead

Close to Famous by Joan Bauer

Dark Souls by Paula Morris
John the Revelator by Peter Mutphy

Do They Know I’m Running? by David Corbett

The Amanda Project by Amanda Valentino and Melissa Kantor

Karma Bites by Stacy Kramer and Valerie Thomas 

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

Return to Paradise by Simone Elkeles

The Handmaid and the Carpenter by Elizabeth Berg

Goddess of the Night by Lynne Twing

Bloody Valentine by Mellissa de la Cruz

Pretties by Scott Westerfeld
Vampire: the Recent Undead

The Rose and the Beast: Fairy Tales Retold by Francesca Lia Block

A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket
Well, that was my week! Don't forget to leave your IMM! I would love to see what you got! And again: I follow back! So follow away, my friends! And now is the time where I tell you one of my favorite bands! This week my band is… The Summer Set!


The Summer Set is amazing! They’re from Arizona and I love them. John Gomez… sigh.

Their music is pop-rock, but as Brian Dales (singer) likes to say: “We’re Pop!”
The Summer Set is... (from left to right) Josh Montgomery (Guitar), John Gomez (Guitar) Brian Dales (Guitar/Piano/Vocals, mainly just vocals) Jess Bowen (Drums) and Stephen (pronounced Steven) Gomez (Bass).
I really love their music, and their latest album, Everything's Fine, just came out! Check them out! I would listen to their songs: Punch-Drunk Love, Someone Like You, Chelsea, The Boys You Do (Get Back At You) Love Like This, Young, This Is How We Live, and Girls Freak Me Out. :) Well, wish me luck—I’m off to see Blink-182, My Chemical Romance and Matt & Kim tomorrow! So excited! :) Also, I have the best father in the world and he got me tickets to see John Green in Asheville, NC! Is anyone else going? :)
Also, please check out my review of Where She Went by Gayle Forman by clicking here! Thank you! :)

Thursday, September 15, 2011

New Giveaway By Babbling Flow!

Hey, everyone! I just thought I would take a minute and tell you all about the awesome giveaway that is being hosted by Babbling Flow.
You can enter for a change to win some pretty amazing ARC's, like EVE by Anna Carey, or                            CARRIER OF THE MARK by Leigh Fallon. Amazing, right? So go on over there to learn more!









Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Book Review: Where She Went by Gayle Forman


Author: Gayle Forman
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: Dutton
Release Date: April 5, 2011
Format: Hardcover: 208 pages
My Rating: 5/5
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) It's been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam's life forever. Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard's rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia's home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future - and each other. Told from Adam's point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.
My Review:
I am a huge fan of Gayle Forman, so I was so excited when I found out about Where She Went and just knew I had to read it, since I loved If I Stay so, so much. Of course, there was that little voice in my head: What if this book doesn’t live up to If I Stay? What if it ruins my love for the first book?
As you can see, I sometimes like to ‘what if’ a lot, but, I told myself, whether I turn out to love Where She Went or not, I was reading it. Am I ever glad I did!
Where She Went picks up three years after the horrible car crash that claimed the lives of Mia Hall’s family, and, as we come to know, was the end of the beautiful relationship that was of Mia and Adam.
This book is told by Adam, Mia’s ex-boyfriend, whose band, Shooting Star, has made the big time: I’m talking Grammy winning, double platinum, that kind of big. He’s living the life with his movie-star girlfriend and never-ending fame. He seems to have it all. Only, his life hasn’t been the same since Mia left, and he has been simply trying to exist without her ever since.
In Where She Went, it is clear that Mia has made her dream come true, and is making a career as a concert cellist. She happens to be playing Carnegie Hall the very same night that Adam has an off day in New York. They find each other again after three long years, and they spend the night by Mia showing Adam her New York, and by the next morning, they will part ways again, for whoever knows how long.
This book was amazing! It was heartbreaking, heartwarming; heart stopping… it had you on edge from the start of every chapter, to the very end of every chapter.
Gayle Forman has a way of writing that leaves you breathless, wanting more, but not quite knowing if you can handle it.
Her writing is almost poetic; the way she takes you into her world, lets you feel the characters pain, feel their happiness, see the world from their eyes… it’s beautiful.
I always knew while reading If I Stay that Adam seemed like such an amazing character, and I wished so much that I could know what he was thinking, how he felt about everything that happened to Mia and her family, about what happened to him and Mia after the end of If I Stay. I got my wish.
Adam was so true a character that at times, I often felt drained while reading this book from his point of view. He didn’t sugarcoat anything, and let you know from the very first page who he was, how he was feeling, and what a ride you were in for, reading about the last three years of his life. Of course, Mia makes her way into this story and into the life of Adam Wilde once more.
If there was one thing I loved about If I Stay, it was the relationships; mainly, the relationship of Mia and Adam. Their relationship was beautiful, the kind of relationship you can only dream of. Adam was the perfect boyfriend, friend, and guy. I want me my very own Adam!
And the song lyrics at the beginning of every other chapter were beautiful! It had me wishing that there really was a Shooting Star album that I could listen to, because I know I would just love it!
Bottom line: the emotion in this novel is overflowing, spilling over the pages and pulls at your heart. It will make you smile, mad, teary-eye, and full of the never ending love these two characters share. If you’re a fan of a great love story that has amazingly relatable characters, great writing, and is overall amazing, you must get your hands on this book right now.  Gayle Forman has outdone herself once again, and I cannot wait for her next story!
You don’t share me. You own me.” –Where She Went.

What Book(s) Should I Giveaway?!?!

Hey everyone! As some of you may know, I have decided that once I hit 100 followers, I will have a giveaway! Exciting, yes, yes--I know! Thank you so much for getting me to where I am now, and as a 'thank you' gift, I would like to give away one book to the lucky winner!
Now. My problem is this: WHAT DO I GIVE AWAY?!?!?!

There are SO many good books out lately, and I want to know what YOU want me to give away! Here are some that I think would be nice in a giveaway:

Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay
The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
Possession by Elana Johnson
The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han
Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey
The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
Early to Death, Early to Rise (Madison Avery) by Kim Harrison
So Yesterday by Scott Westerfeld
White Crow by Marcus Sedgwick
Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers
Fever Crumb by Philip Reeve
The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
Angel Burn by L. A. Weatherly
Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs
Kisses from Hell by Kristin Cast, Richelle Mead, Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, Francesca Lia Block
Two-way Street by Lauren Barnholdt
See What I See by Gloria Whelan
Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow
Shadowcry (The Secrets of Wintercraft) by Jenna Burtenshaw
Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson
Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin
The Daughters by Joanna Philbin
Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

Well, those are my picks! Let me know what you guys think, and please tell your friends about this future giveaway, as it WILL be happening soon! If I get pass 100 followers before this giveaway takes place (I'm hoping to start this giveaway before the 23rd--I'm going out of town then!) I will add ANOTHER book to the giveaway! That's right--TWO BOOKS! and if I get to 150 followers while this contest is running, I'll add on even MORE books! SO yeah. Thanks again, guys, and let me know your pick of the above books, or if you have another book in mind! :)

Sunday, September 11, 2011

The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton: Book Trailer!



I cannot wait for this book! I just know it'll be amazing! :)

Awesome Giveaways by Book Angel, Evie-Bookish, Book Light Graveyard, Hippies-Beauty-And-Books-Oh-My., and Jessi Kirby!


Hey all! I thought it would be a good idea (along with helping me, of course, haha) to post about some awesome giveaways going on this month. So, even though it says 'awesome giveaway by Book Angel' up there, I am not Book Angel. Nope. Just Angel here. :P The Book Angel (not me) is having a great 200+ Followers giveaway, and the prizes are awesome! Go check it out by clicking here! :)
And... it also says a giveaway by Evie-Bookish! She is having an AMAZING giveaway! I really hope I win! Check out the giveaway by click here!
Plus... yes, there is STILL MORE GIVEAWAYS! The awesome Karen at Book Light Graveyard is having a Birthday Day contest, giving away your choice of two pretty awesome books! Go check it out by clicking here!
And... for a 500 Follower contest,  Hippies-Beauty-And-Books-Oh-My. is hosting an AMAZING giveaway, offering tons of awesome books! You can check out the giveaway by clicking here!
Plus... Jessi Kirby is having an AWESOME giveaway to win IN HONOR  jacket proofs! How cool?! To check it out, click here!
P.S, I felt this post needed a picture, so enjoy this picture I took a few summers ago! :P

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Author: Stephanie Perkins
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: Dutton
Release Date: December 2, 2010
Format: Hardcover: 372
My Rating: 5/5
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris - until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he's taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.
As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near - misses end with the French kiss Anna - and readers - have long awaited?
My review:
This book was just… wow. Everything in this book was just so adorable and witty and smart… it was just an altogether great read.
This book had such hype leading up to its release, and I didn’t know what to think about it. Anna and the French Kiss sounded like something I would not usually read, but I knew I just had to have it, because, hey: the cover is pretty amazing!
Anna was such a relatable character that at times it was almost as if she were jumping off the pages at me.
You couldn’t help but feel for her, having to move from Atlanta, Georgia, all the way to France, just because her father is pretty much the Nicolas Sparks of her world, being a ‘romance’ writer, and wants her to have some ‘culture’ in her life.
Her internal dialog was laugh-out-loud funny, and refreshing from all of the sullen thoughts of characters I have been reading lately.
All of the secondary characters were very well devolved and you couldn’t help but love them. They were just as much a part of this book as Anna herself, and had me wishing all the more that I could jump into the story so that they could be my friends.
And St. Claire… our hero was adorable, for a better word.
I liked St. Claire. I didn’t love him, but I liked him. He wasn’t close to perfect by any means, but that’s what I liked about him—about all of the characters. And, he totally had an English accent, while still being American, English, and Parisian. Yep. Stephanie Perkins went there, and I love her for it!
This book had an amazing cast of characters. All of them were very well developed and I loved all of them. They weren’t just there to be there; they actually had roles and I loved that.
Anna was so fun to read about and I loved how real she seemed. She was just a teenage girl who somehow ends up in France, and I found her first few days (and everything after that) very believable.
Stephanie Perkins really gave this novel such strong detail, so much that I could almost see, smell, and feel everything that Anna did. After reading this novel, I am dying to get out to Paris! And soon!
Anna and St. Claire’s relationship was very believable. I love the fact that they were best friends who slowly began to develop feelings for one another, but didn’t just act on those feelings. Even though at times it annoyed me, and had me wanting to yell at them to just get it together and kiss already, I am glad they didn’t just jump into it. Because, lets face it: I hate when books has the leading characters just instantly fall in love and are together by the end of the second chapter.
Overall, while some might label this as a ‘coming of age’ story, I just like to call it a story of growth. Of good times with friends, of bad times with friends, and for exploring another country than your own, and of knowing just who you are, and what you’re truly capable of.
This was an amazing debut from Stephanie Perkins, and I cannot wait for Lola and the Boy Next Door, and for all of her future works.
“The more you know who you are, and what you want, the less you let things upset you.” –Anna and the French Kiss.

Saturday, September 3, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number 10!


 *REPOST FROM LAST SUNDAY, WITH SOME CHANGES! MORE INFO--KEEP READING!*
In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)
Also, I reviewed The Vampire Stalker by Allison van Diepen. You can see my review by clicking HERE.
I also reviewed Die For Me by Amy Plum. You can see my review by clicking HERE.
Thanks again for helping me get to 70 followers! It means so much to me! And, I'm going to be having a giveaway contest once I hit 100 followers! So follow away, my friends, and tell all of YOUR friends! Thank you! :)
By the way, I missed adding my link to The Story Siren's IMM post last Sunday, so I am reposting this (with the added books I have gotten over the last week, so you all can see my TWO Sunday's worth of books!) Sorry for the confusion.
These last two weeks I have gotten:
by
by
by
by
by
Peeps by
Battle Royale by
The Secret Life of Prince Charming by


by
by  
The Giver by
by
by
by
by
by


by
by
by
by
by
by
by
by
 And the wonderful Scott Tracey sent me some signed book marks! So cool! Thank you so much!
 Next, I won a bookmark and signed copy of Rebirth by Sophie Littlefield off of Ivy Reads. Thank you so much, Sophie and Ivy!
by
Witches and Warlocks: Tales of Black Magic, Old and New by Marvin Kaye
by
Balancing Act (sorry, I can't see who this is by... I'll look it up later!)
Grendel by John Gardner
A Separate Peace by John Knowles
The Feel of Rock: Poems of Three Decades by Reed Whitemore

Leaves of Gold by Alice H. Johnson
by


by
And I won a copy of by
by
And last, and maybe best of all (or maybe not, who knows!) A signed copy of by

Well, that's all, folks! Please, leave me your IMM's! I WANT to know what you got this week! :)
As always, this is the part where I leave you with a band that I love, and that I think you should check out. :)
This week, my band is... A Rocket to the Moon!
I LOVE, love, love A Rocket to the Moon! They're amazing! And so cute and sweet! :) I would listen to their song Like We Used To first, then Give A Damn, She's Killing Me, Baby Blue Eyes, Mr. Right, If I Only Had the Heart, Fear of Flying, Life of the Party, and On A Lonely Night. Oh! On Your Side is also great! You know what? Listen to ALL their songs! On Your Side, their latest album, is one of my all time favorite albums ever!
Band members: (from left to right) Eric "Halvo" Halvorsen (bassist/backup vocalist) Nick Santino (lead vocalist/rhythm guitarist) Andrew Cook (drummer)  and Justin Richards (Guitarist/backup vocalist).
I love them, and I'm sure you will too! I can't wait to see them live in October! :) Give them a listen and let me know what you think! 

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Book Review: Die For Me by Amy Plum


Author: Amy Plum
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: May 10, 2011
Format: Hardcover: 352
My Rating: 3/5
Buy It: Amazon Barns & Noble Book Depository
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.
When Kate Mercier's parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life--and memories--behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.
Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate's guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he's a revenant--an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again.
In this incandescent debut, newcomer Amy Plum has created a powerful paranormal mythology with immortal revenants. The Paris setting comes enchantingly alive as a relentless struggle between good and evil takes place in its streets. Rich with romance, atmosphere, and thrills, Die for Me will leave readers breathlessly awaiting its sequel.
 
My Review:
Die for Me by Amy Plum was a light read with some very interesting twists and turns.
Our heroine, Kate, was a nice character. I found her real and the pain of having lost her parents really touched me, and made me think about how life would be without my parents.
It wouldn’t be much of a life, really.
I loved her relationship with her sister, because I, myself, am very close with my older brother, so I know just how much Georgia meant to her, and how glad she was to still have her.
The relationships in this novel were great; from Kate’s grandparents, to Vincent’s ‘family’, it was just great. Wait… who is Vincent, you ask? Well, since you asked nicely…
Vincent is Kate’s super hot, undead (kind of?) and super dreamy French-maybe-he-is-maybe-he-isn’t-boyfriend. If that line doesn’t make you want to read this book, I don’t know what will! What are you reading if not these awesome YA Paranormal Romance novels? Let’s not get into that…
Die for Me is set in Paris, France, and just let me tell you, I have been reading A LOT of books set in Paris this year! But I love it!
The description was great, and it made me just want to jump into Kate's world and see Paris from her eyes, almost like the way Anna and the French Kiss (review to come! How exciting!) made me feel.
And while now living her days (and nights!) in France, Kate meets Vincent. Can you say tall, dark, undead, and handsome? I loved me some Vincent…
I loved how Kate and Vincent got to know each other, and spent time together before anything too serious started happening between them. But, as in all paranormal YA reads, one of our main characters is not… well… completely human.
Vincent is what is called a revenant—an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Yep. I just totally took that line from the summary. Sue me, I’m lazy!
I thought the idea of having the main character being a revenant instead of a zombie, (which is what Plum’s revenants largely resemble, even though in folklore, revenants more so resemble vampires. You can bet I did my research! Good blogger award, anyone?) was really original. Zombies aren’t as popular as vampires by any means, but still. Revenants were close to none-existent before this YA book! Thank you for writing something new for us, Amy Plum!
But even though the set up and the characters were amazing, I just didn’t feel much for it. I felt it was just missing something. Maybe that missing feeling was just Kate’s sadness over her parents death rubbing off on me, or maybe the story itself just did not have a strong enough plot line for me.
But, this is the first in a series, so that could be why.
Overall, I would read this book. The story came slightly more together at the end, and left me wanting to know what was going to happen next. I can’t wait for book 2!
Even if you somehow end up not liking this novel—though, it’s pretty likeable—it sure does look wonderfully pretty on your shelf!
"Well, spit on my empty grave--if it ain't the attack of the Disney princesses!" -Die For Me.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...