Saturday, August 27, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number 8!


In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)
Hey guys! Hope you all are doing good and well! 
This week I got:
King of the Screwups by K.L. Going 
The Best Day of Someone Else's Life by Kerry Reichs
Sea Change by Aimee Friedman
Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik
A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn
A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford
Chain Reaction by Simone Elkeles
Dirty Little Secrets by C. J. Omololu
Wishful Thinking by Alexandra Bullen
And a lovely bookmark and button by my blogger friend Alex at Blethering About Books Check her blog out! She's great!
I'm so sorry everything is rushed; our power just went out a few minutes ago because of the hurricane, so sorry! Plus, I'm pretty sure I forgot some books. I'll post them next week! And thank you so much for following my blog! :) I love you all and I follow back!
Oh, and I have a quick question! Do you guys think I should just keep to random book review posts, or just pick a date? I was thinking of posting a new review every Friday and Monday. What do you guys think? Please let me know! Thank you!
And this is also where I leave you with a band that I love. This week my band is All Time Low!
Old and kind of weird picture, but I love them! Check them out! I would listen to their song Jasey Rae first, then Remembering Sunday, Dear Maria, Count Me In, then their newer stuff: Weightless, Lost In Stereo (one of my favorites!), Damned If I Do Ya (Damned If I Don't), Sick Little Games, and Therapy. Then, their NEWEST stuff: That Girl (could very well be my favorite All Time Low song ever!) I Feel Like Dancin', Time-Bomb, Guts, Just The Way I'm Not, and Daydream Away. A lot of songs, but all great! They're really sweet guys, and they're on tour! I can't wait to see them again, and hopefully meet them again, in October! Wish me luck! Oh, I should tell you their names! :) (from left to right) Rian Dawson (Drummer) Alex Gaskarth (Singer/guitar) Jack Barrakat (yes, that is his real name! Lead guitar) and Zack Merrick, my (other) true love. (Bass/vocals) As I said, I love them. They're punk-pop turn pop-rock. They're amazing, and I hope you check them out! They sound like what Blink-182 would sound like if Blink-182 and Good Charlotte had a baby. Take that how you want.
Take care and be safe, guys!

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Book Review: The Vampire Stalker by Allison van Diepen

 
Author: Allison van Diepen
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: Point
Release Date: June 1, 2011
Format: Hardcover: 272
My Rating: 5/5
Buy It: Amazon Barns & Noble Book Depository
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) What if the characters in a vampire novel left their world--and came into yours?
Amy is in love with someone who doesn't exist: Alexander Banks, the dashing hero in a popular series of vampire novels. Then one night, Amy meets a boy who bears an eerie resemblance to Alexander. In fact, he IS Alexander, who has escaped from the pages of the book and is in hot pursuit of a wicked vampire named Vigo. Together, Amy and Alexander set out to track Vigo and learn how and why Alexander crossed over. But when she and Alexander begin to fall for each other, Amy wonders if she even wants him to ever return to the realm of fiction.


The Vampire Stalker by Allison van Diepen was such a fun, cute read!
I have to admit that at first, it was the book cover and title that got me to pick up this book. It just seemed so… interesting: “The Vampire Stalker. Huh. What could that possibly be about?” I asked myself. Yeah, right. But let me tell you; I got way more than I expected.
Amy is in love. Only, she’s in love with a guy she has never met. Like most of us book lovers, Amy is in love with a fictional character from her favorite books, The Otherworld trilogy by Elizabeth Howard.
Alexander Banks is the young brooding vampire hunter of Otherworld Chicago. With only the aid of his cousin, the pacifist, James, Alexander, is out to get revenge on Vigo Skaar, the vampire who killed his family when he was just a young boy.
One night while walking home from a school dance, Amy is attacked. Only, this attack seems anything but normal. Amy gets just a quick glance at her attacker before she is carried several feet away and is then rescued before she realizes what has happened. Her savior is none other than Alexander Banks himself, and her attacker: none other than the vampire Vigo Skaar.
Amy and Alexander are in for a crazy ride when they join forces to figure out how exactly both Alexander and Vigo were transported from Otherworld Chicago to the real world, and most of all: How to stop Vigo from murdering the innocent people of their city before it is too late.
I really enjoyed this book! I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I picked this up, but this novel really beat my expectations and left me satisfied.
Amy was a likeable character. She was fun to read about, and I enjoyed reading the story from her point of view.
She seemed like a normal teenage girl, from the way she fought with--but very much loved--her sister, to how she loved to write fan fictions, because, come on: how many of us haven't written a fanfic or two in our time?  Her friends were also nice, and I didn’t find myself annoyed with any of the characters as I have so often come to find as of late with some of these new YA books within this supernatural-type category.
Alexander was charming and I found myself smiling along with Amy at the mere mention of his name. Yes. I fell in love with him as well, which surprised me because we never really learn much about Alexander.
Yes, Amy and Alexander talk and you get to see them learning little bits and pieces of each other, but when it all comes down to it, Amy has already learned so much from having read about Alexander from the Otherworld books, that there were spaces that left us guessing.
I loved the idea of literary-physics, which is what they used as the reasoning as to why/how Alexander transported from Otherworld to the real world.
Overall, even though I found the plot-line kind of weak, the story was engaging and kept me reading and wanting more.
I’m not sure if there is going to be a second book, or if this is a stand-alone, but I do see the makings of another book for this group of new and exciting characters.
So if you want a nice, fun read, I would pick this book up the next time you’re looking for a quick read. You won’t be sorry!

Sunday, August 21, 2011

THE SCORPIO RACES by Meggie Stiefvater

Is this not so completely awesome? I swear I love everything this woman comes up with! :)

Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Author: Veronica Roth
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: May 3, 2011
Format: Hardcover: 496
My Rating: 5/5
Buy It: Amazon Barns & Noble Book Depository
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) Beatrice "Tris" Prior has reached the fateful age of sixteen, the stage at which teenagers in Veronica Roth's dystopian Chicago must select which of five factions to join for life. Each faction represents a virtue: Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite. To the surprise of herself and her selfless Abnegation family, she chooses Dauntless, the path of courage. Her choice exposes her to the demanding, violent initiation rites of this group, but it also threatens to expose a personal secret that could place in mortal danger. Veronica Roth's young adult Divergent trilogy launches with a captivating adventure about love and loyalty playing out under most extreme circumstances.
My Reivew:
Divergent has so far been the best YA book I have read in 2011. I am not even kidding. Get your hands on this book now!!!
Beatrice (Tris) was such a unique, endearing, kick*ss—you name it, she was it—character. I really liked Tris, and felt connected to her and her world the whole time I was reading. I could have finished this book in one sitting; I have no doubt, if I didn’t have to sleep. But that’s not important. The point is: this book was none stop action from the very start. I have never read a book where on every single page something was happening, and made you feel like if you put the book down for one second, you were going to die from the anticipation. Of course, you had your calm and sweet moments, but most of the book, Tris and the other characters were more or less fighting for their lives.
I really felt for Tris when she had to make the difficult decision of which faction she was going to join, and I found myself rooting for her on her journey until the very last page.
She was the kind of character that really showed growth. She came a long way from being Beatrice: quiet, afraid to speak out, curious… to becoming Tris:  Strong, confident, brave; fearless. I loved how Ms. Roth didn’t try to make her perfect. Tris is a small, short girl, who maybe (you never really know) is not the prettiest, smartest girl around. In the world of today, where most of the female characters of YA books are always beautiful, smart, outgoing and has everything going for them—Tris was a breath of fresh air.

All of the characters I felt were really devolved, even with this being the first in a trilogy, I felt like all of the characters had a strong sense of who they were, or who they wanted to be.
The world Veronica Roth has created is wonderfully crafted, alluring, and utterly terrifying. All I have to say is, if Chicago ever takes a turn in the Divergent direction, I am NEVER going there!
I liked the way that the author pulled you into the story and made you feel like you were a part of it; I have never gripped a book so tightly in my hands before.
And Four! Our hero was quite the catch. He wasn’t one of those sappy, pushover characters that made you roll your eyes every two seconds. I loved how he cared so much about Tris but still kept his head and had you always dying to know more about him. While this book was packed full of action, there was also a romantic nature to the writing that I just adored.
I keep talking about the characters a lot, but I think that is Ms. Roth’s strong point; having such relatable, engaging characters that make the whole story so much better. And her detail is always perfect, and adds so much more to the story.
All I can really say about this book is that Veronica Roth has shown us just what she can do, and has—I’m sure—every single one of us dying for more.
I cannot wait for the second book in this exciting new trilogy: Insurgent. I hope it picks up right where Divergent left off, and I cannot wait to see where Veronica Roth takes us next. She is an author to watch out for. This stunning debut proves just that.
“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.” –Divergent.

Saturday, August 20, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number Six!



In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)
Hey guys! Hope you all are doing good and well! Thank you for helping me get pass 50 followers! You guys are amazing! :) <3

This week I got...
Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare 
Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
Vintage Veronica by Erica S. Perl
The Unidentified by
The Haunted by Jessica Verday
A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
Nightspell by Leah Cypess
My Life Undecided by
Reckless by Cornelia Funke 
Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Lynn Barnes 
Shadowcry by Jenna Burtenshaw
Airman by Eoin Colfer
Bordertown
Cryer's Cross by Lisa McMann
Firelight by Sophie Jordan
Luminous by Dawn Metcalf
The Girl Is Murder by Kathryn Miller Haines  
White Crow by Marcus Sedgwick
A Field Guide for Heartbreakersby Kristen Tracy 
Sweetly by
Passing Strange by Daniel Waters
Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
When I Was Joe by Keren David


So that was my week! Leave your IMM links and I promise to check them out! :) 
Now, this is also the part where I leave you with a lovely picture of my one true love (he just doesn't know it yet!) John O'Callaghan. Check him and the band that he's in (The Maine) out! You won't be sorry! Plus, he's a poet! Sexy. ;) Haha. I would start with the song Everything I Ask For, Girls Do What They Want, Into Your Arms, then I Must Be Dreaming or Whoever She Is. Then listen to Right Girl and my favorite: Give It To Me. <3 Have a great week, guys! :)
Mm. Love you, John! :) <3

Sunday, August 7, 2011

Book Review: Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey



Author: Beth Fantaskey
Author Online: Twitter Website
Publisher: Harcourt Children's Books
Release Date: 1 edition (May 3, 2010)
Format: Hardcover: 288 pages
My Rating: 5/5
Buy It: Amazon Barns & Noble Book Depository
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads) Jill Jekel has always obeyed her parents rules;especially the one about never opening the mysterious, old box in her father's office. But when her dad is murdered, and her college savings disappear, she's tempted to peek inside, as the contents might be the key to a lucrative chemistry scholarship.
To improve her odds, Jill enlists the help of gorgeous, brooding Tristen Hyde, who has his own dark secrets locked away. As the team of Jekel and Hyde, they recreate experiments based on the classic novel, hoping not only to win a prize, but to save Tristen's sanity. Maybe his life. But Jill's accidental taste of a formula unleashes her darkest nature and compels her to risk everything, even Tristen's love just for the thrill of being . . . bad.

My Review: 
Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey was, dare I say… amazing?
I’ve been a fan of Beth Fantaskey since I read Jessica’s Guild to Dating on the Dark Side sometime last year. It was such a fun, fast read, but with a very dark undertone, much the same as this one. I’m starting to learn that to be her writing style, and I love it! 
I know this book has been out for a while, but I still see few reviews on it; people only knowing of Jessica’s Guild, so I wanted to review this great book.
Jekel Loves Hyde was dark without being gory, mysterious without being secretive and all together alluring.
We first meet our heroine, Jill Jekel, after the death of her father. While at his funeral, a classmate of Jill’s—Tristen Hyde (our hero)—shows up and comforts her as a shoulder to cry on, right there in the graveyard. This might be normal, other than the fact that Jill and Tristen are complete strangers outside of school, each one not knowing much about the other. Soon, Jill and Tristen come together to enter a science competition, the prize being $30,000 that is crucial for Jill if she is to go to her dream school, and the experiment they are working on in question, crucial for Tristen , if he wants to remain true to himself… whoever that may be.
I loved this book so much—words cannot express it enough! Jill felt real to me, and I felt her pain and heartache through most of the novel, even though she tried to keep strong and take care of her mother who was still grief-stricken by her husband’s death. 
Though at times Jill was very stiff and boring, I never got that annoyed with her. She was your typical nerdy girl and I liked her for who she was. Fantaskey didn’t try to make her more than that, and for that, I am glad.
Tristen … oh Tristen Hyde! He was definitely swoon-worthy! Tristen is a “bad boy” who is on the cross-country team, and he has a temper that will get him into some real trouble if he doesn’t watch out.
This book was amazing. I couldn’t get enough. I think I would have read it in less than a day if I didn’t have to leave the house, go to the bathroom, eat, etc, etc…
It has just the right mix of creepy and sexy, and I love the way this story played in with The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.
While most people (people who actually think with their mind while reading) will find it hard to believe that what takes place in Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde had actually happened, I find Jekel Loves Hyde to be as close as something like that happening could get. 
Fantaskey did a lovely job of putting it all together, and I loved all of the right characters and disliked all of the evil ones. Oh yes, there were evil ones!
So if you’re looking for a light read with dark lighting, I would pick up Jekel Loves Hyde in a heartbeat! You will not be sorry. 
Also, for all of us Jessica’s Guild lovers out there, the sequel, Jessica Rules the Dark Side, will be coming out January 10th, 2012 by Harcourt Children's Books. I don’t know about you, but I can’t wait!

Saturday, August 6, 2011

IMM (In My Mailbox) Number Five!


In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren to showcase all of the awesome books you've gotten in the last week! So go on over there and see how you can become part of this great meme! :) Also, I would LOVE to know what you got this week, so leave your link to your IMM and I'll check it out and follow your blog! I follow back, by the way. :) Here we go!
(Just click the pictures to enlarge them!)

Over the last few weeks I have gotten...
Possession by Elana Johnson
Rules of Attraction by Simone Elkeles 
Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have) by Sarah Mlynowski
Jack: Secret Vengeance by F. Paul Wilson
Abandon by Meg Cabot
Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade
Queen of the Dead by Stacey Kade
Tell Us We're Home by Marina Budhos 
Everlasting by Angie Frazier
See What I See by Gloria Whelan
How to Take the Ex Out of Ex-Boyfriend by Janette Rallison
Girl of the Moment by Lizabeth Zindel
Girl At Sea by Maureen Johnson
Hippie Chick by Joseph Monninger 
The Mark by Jen Nadol
Crossing Over by Anna Kendall
All You Get Is Me by Yvonne Prinz
The Interrogation of Gabriel James by Charlie Price
The Secret Rites of Social Butterflies by Lizabeth Zindel
Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen
Dirty Laundry by Daniel Ehrenhaft
Intertwined by Gena Showalter
Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles
Vampire Crush by A.M. Robinson
Confessions of a Vampire's Girlfriend (Ben and Fran #1-2) by Katie MacAlisterThe Betrayal of Natalie Hargrove by Lauren Kate
It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly
Glass by Ellen Hopkins
Plague by Michael Grant
Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
Red Glove by Holly Black
The Lost Saint by Bree Despain
Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld
Extras by Scott Westerfeld 
Specials by Scott Westerfeld
LoveSick by Jake Coburn
You Know Where to Find Me by Rachel Cohn
Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
Aries Rising by Bonnie Hearn Hill
One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss (Oh, I couldn't help myself, okay? I LOVE this story!)
The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry
Yes, there is STILL more! I am SO bad with book buying... Don't set me loose in a bookstore. Just don't.
The Book of Spells by Kate Brian
Falling for Hamlet by Michelle Ray
Entwined by Heather Dixon
Cloaked by Alex Flinn
If I Stay by Gayle Forman (I LOVE this book! I loved it so much I had to have it in hardback!)
The Girl Who Became A Beatle by Greg Taylor
Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
The Season by Sarah MacLean
You Wish by Mandy Hubbard
The Pace by Shelena Shorts
Zombie Queen of Newbury High by Amanda Ashby
Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins
And yet, there is more...
Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari
The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper
The Other Countess by Eve Edwards
The Rites and Wrongs of Janice Wills by Joanna Pearson
Mistwood by Leah Cypess
Stork by Wendy Delsol
Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
 And the last of my spending problem...
Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Hereafter by Tara Hudson 
Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie by David Lubar
Chime by Franny Billingsley 


And that is all! Wow! That took me a LONG time to do, no kidding. I don't think I'll link everything next time, haha. :)
Leave the link to your IMM and I'll check it out! I would LOVE to know what you guys are reading! And I'm sorry I've been M.I.A! My life has been pretty crazy, but I'm back now. I have some reviews written out and I'll post them later! Thanks for all of the comments on my reviews; I don't know if I replied to them or not... sorry! :( Thanks, guys!
P.S, I also got Wanted by Sara Shepard but stupid me forgot I had it, haha. :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...